Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
Italy
Hi. I'm writing a motivation letter to a potential Ph.D. supervisor. Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much in advance

Dear XXX
I am XXX. I’m writing to state my motivation and inquire about the availability of Ph.D. positions to join your laboratory. I am very interested in the use of systems biology approaches you employ to elucidate molecular mechanisms of diseases and immune responses to vaccination and infection.

With a strong background in Molecular biology, Biochemistry, and Immunology, in 2019 I hold a Master’s Degree in XXX at the University of YYY. The degree courses provide me with specific competencies and know-how for the identification of new pharmacological targets as well as the design and delivery of biopharmaceutical drugs. I defended my master's thesis focusing on the synthesis and physical-chemical characterization of oligonucleotide analogs to be used as innovative therapeutics tools.

In addition, in January 2022, I completed a one-year specialization program in “XXX” at the University of YYY. This helped me improve my knowledge of the most recent genomics and in situ-based technologies in the context of cancer disease. Here, I worked on a project involving the use of “Fluorescence in situ hybridization” (FISH) to detect chromosomal rearrangements.
In September 2023, I have been selected for a PhD-program in the Immunology section at the University of XXX. Unfortunately, my research topic has been changed and I have decided that it would be better for me to stop my PhD-program.