Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
English
Home Country
Nigeria
Current Location
Nigeria
Working in a clinical environment has always been my childhood dream. Donning the white coat, blue or green scrub, were all concepts that seemed fascinating to me. Flashing a warm smile at patients, with the intention of calming their anxiety while giving them one or two reasons to keep hope alive. However, all these lasted until a couple of years ago.

Hoping to experience what it really feels like to be in the midst of patients, I applied for an intern / volunteer position at the diagnostic unit of a hospital. My roles were quite similar to what I had always envisioned during my childhood. I had a first-hand contact with both the patient and their guardians. There was the room to interact with them (the guardians) and assure them of a sickness-free day ahead. However, all these did not feel as fulfilling as I wanted.

Being an intern, I volunteered in different arms of the organisation, though my primary assignment was to train as an ultrasound technician. Among the notable encounters I had was on one of the occasions of my volunteer session, which was successfully convincing a man who was in his early thirties to undergo a fertility test, as he happened to be reluctant -even after his doctor must have duly enlightened him-questioning why a fertility test should be conducted on him, since there’s the popular misconception of infertility being a female problem.