Tips Tricks or Helpful Guides to Online/Virtual Teaching?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spunkybkworm

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
Costa Rica
Hello Teachers! I'm potentially getting back into the classroom after several years away and it's highly likely that it will be a virtual one, specifically hosted on Zoom. I have very little distance learning experience and would very much appreciate any and all advice or suggestions of helpful resources related to this kind of teaching.

Specifically of interest would be any guides on utilizing Zoom features, apps or websites that can be included to maximize interactions during virtual classes, or even simply info on common pitfalls and troubleshooting of teaching online.

I have often relied on chalk/whiteboards as well as dice, cards and other gaming devices during my lessons and activities and am rather at a loss when imagining teaching without such resources. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

leruiz

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Portuguese
Home Country
Brazil
Current Location
Brazil
Hello! I hope everything goes well for you and your classes!

I have never used zoom, but it must be very similar to google meet (which I use), so I'd say to look into the options for screen sharing and tab sharing. In google meet, sharing one specific tab, instead of the whole screen, allows you to show them videos with sound, for example!