Home Country
South Korea
Current Location
South Korea
define
a : to determine or identify the essential qualities or meaning of
  • whatever defines us as human
Source: Definition of DEFINE

What's the meanings of "determine" and "identify"?

GoldfishLord

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Korean
Home Country
South Korea
Current Location
South Korea
I did. It seems to me that "determine" and "identify" are close in meaning to "discover, find out". What do you say?

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
I say no, they aren't.

As a vocabulary teacher, I also say you're going about this in the wrong way.

GoldfishLord

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Korean
Home Country
South Korea
Current Location
South Korea
The quote is from any random source on the web and it is ideal to work out the meaning from context.
However, I'm really curious about the meanings of them.

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
The quote is from any random source on the web and it is ideal to work out the meaning from context.
What quote are you referring to? You gave us the source of the original definition so that's not "any random source". I don't understand the second half of your sentence.

GoldfishLord

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Korean
Home Country
South Korea
Current Location
South Korea
"The quote is from any random source on the web" is not well written.
I intended to say "I quote randomly".

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
à

I intended to say "I quote randomly".
OK, but I don't know how to make sense out of that. Perhaps: "I quoted anonymous sources on the Web."

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK