[General] What are acceptable pronunciations for a foreign speaker to use ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boxxun

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
French
Home Country
France
Current Location
France
Hi there !

I'm boxxun, a french self-taught english speaker that still has to this day (though I am quite young, objectively) trouble pronouncing some letters at times.

I definitely am not looking to make my english perfect, instead settling for ways to get a satisfying, understandable and consistent way of pronouncing the dreaded "th" and "r" that are O so present in the english language, and avoid stuttering every word or two for no reason.

For now, I've mainly settled with pronouncing "this" as "dis", as to not use the good old "Zis" associated with us frenchies, it works well ath the moment, but I'm not sure how it may be perceived by native speakers.

On the other hand, I can't seem to find a reliable way of pronouncing r's, because they have so many ways to be said, be it hard R's, the ones french and german people most often use, or the "round"/ soft R's as in "write" for example, but I always get stuck on them when speaking otherwise fluidly, so I want to settle for either of them, I just can't be halted every time I have to say "wrath" or "quarry", to cite the less common occurrences of my english nemesis.

So what is in your opinion the better sounding variant, only hard R's or "soft" R's ?

I think that will be all for now, though I'm open to any other constructive criticism you may give me.
Thank you very much for reading !

GoesStation

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States