• Bulgarian
      • Home Country:
      • Bulgaria
      • Current Location:
      • Denmark
    Post Thanks / Like

Smile gotta go number 2

Hello guys,
    I just saw this expression : "I gotta go number two".Does anyone know the meaning of it?

Barb_D is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: gotta go number 2

It's something a child would say.

To go "number one" is to urinate, and to go "number two" is to defecate.

Another way to say this, suitable for someone the same age: I have to poo.

Adults in the US do not specify what activity is required when using the toilet. They just excuse themselves and take care of it.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

Noran is offline Newbie
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Interested in Language
      • Native Language:
      • Bulgarian
      • Home Country:
      • Bulgaria
      • Current Location:
      • Denmark
    Post Thanks / Like

Thank you Barb D :)

MiaCulpa is offline Newbie
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Hi, the information Barb_D gives is certainly correct. If you were wondering about the origins of the expression, I have been told by older people that it evolved from past school customs.