How to teach an adult with no experience with the language?

Status
Not open for further replies.

flomariani

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Spanish
Home Country
Argentina
Current Location
Argentina
Hello, I am going to start teaching an adult with no experience at all with the language. I don't know where to start or how to develop an interesting class, it is my first time teaching adults.
Can you give me some ideas?
Can you recommend me any book to help me developing classes to adult students?
I would be greatful for some advice !

Skrej

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Is your student literate in his/her native language?
Is your student literate in English?

If the answer to either of these questions is no, you're going to have to start off with some basic phonics and print skills.

That will take a surprising amount of your time.

Last edited by a moderator:

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Having (briefly) taught an adult absolute beginner in Spain, I don't envy you your task. My student was a very intelligent man who was entirely literate in his own language but had never taken any classes in a foreign language. His wife spoke very good English and his children were both in their advanced English school classes. His wife told me that she and the children had tried to teach him at least a few words at home but to no avail, so she wanted me to try!

My task was not helped by the fact that he would regularly cancel classes at five minutes' notice so there was little continuity. He also insisted that he had no time for homework. We managed, on average, a total of two hours a week.