Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Great Britain
Current Location
Thailand
I have been teaching foreign students for 7 years now. I find that they all know the ABC alphabet. However, none of them ever seem to have been taught the 'baby alphabet' which is the first alphabet we all learn as kids in English schools. This tends to affect their ability to pronounce the vowels. So, they will be able to say A, E, I, O, U very easily, but will be unable to say a, e, i, o, u. When it comes to reading this is especially important. I have made a Youtube video to display this and can explain about how to use this when reading English. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bogOlqLMX0. The letter 'e' on the end of a word is the key to this as it will change the vowel sound in a word.

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Re: The little know English baby alphabet

So, they will be able to say A, E, I, O, U very easily, but will be unable to say a, e, i, o, u.
Welcome to the forum. :hi:

I'm a little confused. Are you saying that they recognise upper-case letters but not lower-case? I've never heard of the 26 lower-case letters being called the "baby alphabet".

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England

So, they will be able to say A, E, I, O, U very easily, but will be unable to say a, e, i, o, u.

I understand completely what you mean, Chris. You mean they don't know how to say the 'baby alphabet' pronunciation of these letters.

Anyway, what's your question?

By the way, you've made an error in the way you've pronounced u in the song at the beginning of the video. It sounds like a schwa.

SoothingDave

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States

You mean long and short vowels?

GoesStation