I had been running three miles a day for three years before/when I broke my legs.

MichaelLu2000

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Taiwan
Current Location
Taiwan
I am wondering which conjunction I should use when using the past perfect continuous tense. See below:

“I had been running three miles a day for three years before/when I broke my legs.”

“I had been living in Japan for three years when/before I met you.”

I think “when” fits better with the past perfect continuous tense while “before” is better with the past perfect tense (E.g: I had run three miles a day for three years before I broke my legs & I had lived in Japan for three years before I met you.)

It’s just my guess, so I am not sure if I am right about this.

Please give me some advice.

Last edited:

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
Did you really break your legs (plural)?

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
I am wondering which conjunction I should use when using the past perfect continuous tense. See below:

“I had been running three miles a day for three years before/when I broke my legs.”

“I had been living in Japan for three years when/before I met you.”

I think “when” fits better with the past perfect continuous tense while “before” is better with the past perfect tense (E.g: I had run three miles a day for three years before I broke my legs &“I had been living in Japan for three years when/before I met you.”)

It’s just my guess, so I am not sure if I am right about this.

Please give me some advice.
I think it would be more natural to say "I broke both legs".

I had been running three miles a day for three years before/when I broke both legs.
When is good. Before suggests to me that breaking both legs was foreseen.