Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
England
I am a fairly experienced teacher, but am struggling with one aspect: I have a couple of Polish students who have been resident in the UK for several years. They have developed good vocabulary and fluency, but also some habits that interfere with grammatical accuracy and correct pronunciation. They've come to me to improve these aspects. The problem is this: I prepare lessons that target their errors; they perform really well in lessons, achieving the aim each time. I give lots of opportunity to practise during lessons. But.....as soon as the lesson ends and they are just chatting to me, they drop straight back into their habitual mistakes!! I really don't know how to take them forward. Does anybody have any suggestions for how to break bad habits? (The learners do recognise they make habitual mistakes).

teechar

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Iraq
Current Location
Iraq
As the saying goes: old habits die hard!
The best remedy is practice and lots of it. Humans are not computers, so it takes time to re-establish a concept/pattern in our brains. Encourage your students to persist with practice and not to be dissuaded by initial relapses.

Lorrgood

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
England
As the saying goes: old habits die hard!
The best remedy is practice and lots of it. Humans are not computers, so it takes time to re-establish a concept/pattern in our brains. Encourage your students to persist with practice and not to be dissuaded by initial relapses.
Yep, lots of practice is the answer. Unfortunately, they get a bit bored covering the same ground (albeit using varying media) every lesson. They don't seem to realised they also have to apply new learning to create new habits! Onward and upward!🙄

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language