Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Georgia
Current Location
Georgia
What does "unless otherwise specified" mean in this explanation? Does it mean that the present perfect continuous can refer to a recently finished action and that it can be used if the action is no longer in progress? For example, "I have been studying for two years. Today is the last day of my course." (I already had the last class or I am going to have it later.) I am saying this while it's still the day, but in the evening I say "I studied English for two years".
I have been studying the difference between present perfect and present perfect continuous. I have saved a few screenshots, but I can't find the website this screenshot was taken from. I can't share the link. Sorry.

IMG_20210717_115846.jpg

teechar

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Iraq
Current Location
Iraq
The present perfect (simple and continuous) connects the past and now. It may or may not include the time of speaking (the present). Remember that sentences are normally said/written in a context, and that context/scenario usually clarifies whether the present is included or not.

Charlie Bernstein

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
You're wondering what "unless otherwise specified" means.

It means that additional information might change the time frame. For instance:

She's been studying English for two years, but last week she moved to another school where they don't teach it.

That is grammatical even though she is no longer studying English. That's why your book says "unless otherwise specified."

So, as Teechar says, the context matters.

Last edited by a moderator:

Rachel Adams

Key Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Georgia
Current Location
Georgia
You're wondering what "unless otherwise specified" means.