Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Russian Federation
Current Location
Russian Federation
This is a task from a Russian book on article usage called "The English Articles in Speech Situations" by Volkova E.I..

never.png

But my question is not about articles. I'd like to know whether the past simple is the best or the only correct choice in the sentence. There are numerous examples of I've never done this before on the internet. What should I take into account to make the correct/best choice?

Is it important whether this phrase is uttered before, during or after the action/event?

Last edited:

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
This is a task from a Russian book on article usage called "The English Articles in Speech Situations" by Volkova E.I..

Uh-oh!

But my question is not about articles.

Whew! Thank God for that.

:)-D Only joking, of course. I welcome your questions about articles.)

Don't worry about the use of the past simple here. It's unnatural to me too. It's a distinctly American style to use past simple where we'd normally use present perfect.

GoesStation

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
It's natural in casual American English.

On the other hand, while I can't say it's entirely wrong, the definite article in your book's title is questionable at best. Or is that your translation of the title? More natural titles would be English Articles in Speech or The English Article in Speech.

If the title is not a translation, it's bad enough to disregard the rest of the book. On the other hand (and sorry for the ad):

Last edited:

Alexey86

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Russian Federation
Current Location
Russian Federation
Or is that your translation of the title?