Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Georgia
Current Location
Georgia
These sentences are taken from this website:https://www.k12reader.com/term/superlative-adverbs/

I didn't forget about the one question per thread rule, but I am asking about the different use of superlative adverbs. I am studying them now and I was wondering if my comments are correct.

1. "Josh is the fastest runner on the team." Omitting the article is wrong.

2. "Caroline smiles the most sweetly." Without "the" "most sweetly" means very sweetly or Caroline is compared to other people and she smiles "the most sweetly" compared to others.

3. "Our rotary telephone is the least frequently used device in our house." I don't know if it can be omitted or not.

4. "Ben moved most quietly as the boys walked down the darkened ally." "The most quietly" would mean the same as in the second example. He is compared.

5. "The last remark was the least clearly stated. I can't say if the article can be omitted.

6. "Karen accepted the award most graciously." The same as #2 and #4.

7. "The accident occurred most abruptly." I am not sure if the article can be used.

8. "Lisa drives most carefully in heavy traffic." The same as #2 and #4.

8. "I most anxiously await your arrival." I can't say if "the" can be added.

9. "Kerri most assuredly did not do what you accused her of." Not sure if "the" can be added.

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic

Charlie Bernstein

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
The short answer: The meanings of many of those will change depending on whether you use "the." For example:

- "Karen accepted the award most graciously" means she accepted it VERY graciously.