Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Hi,
I am a tutor for Wyzant (not for English!). I receive a daily list of students/parents for need help in my field, math. I get to write a message to them basically trying to convince them to hire me over everyone else who replies.

I was hoping that you folks can please make some comments, after you finish laughing, about how I can make my message better (aka rewriting it!).

For the record, I volunteer my time on a math help forum.

Thank you,

Steven

First I want to say that to build up my business with Wyzant I am offering for a limited time one free hour of tutoring in exchange for a nice feedback.

My name is Steven XXXX. I am a retired college math professor and a professional math tutor with over 10,000 hours of tutoring experience. As a result I can assist you with any course or test prep you need help with.

Unlike many educators I have my degrees in Mathematics- not in education. As a trained mathematician I naturally think in a mathematical way. I just do not memorize how to do problems but rather I understand what is involved in solving a problem. In my honest opinion this is what you want in a math tutor. Since I understand the steps in solving a problem I can teach you in a way that is so obvious that you will remember much of what I show you for life.

Having been a private tutoring for over 35 years I learned how to teach in many different styles. After one or two sessions I will figure out your learning style and we will be a perfect match from there. Many years ago I said that I saw it all. These days I saw it all twice.