[Grammar] Noun clauses or Relative clauses?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Creamcake

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Vietnamese
Home Country
Vietnam
Current Location
Vietnam
Hi folks,

When I studied Noun clauses I discovered an interesting part of them, that is they can be an appositive. That means a noun clause can be positioned right after a word, it does not have to replace the word entirely. For instance:

- The news that he is going to get married depresses her so much. (appositive of S)
- She can't stand the fact that she will be alone again. (appositive of O)
- It is great/the hot news that I will be promoted. (appositive of C)

Now, this is quite similar to the situation of Relative clauses, so in some cases I cannot tell which is which. For example:

- The reason why he left school is still not clear to me.
- The question why he left school is still not answered.

If I am not wrong, the first one should be a Relative clause and the second one should be Noun clause, but that is what my gut telling me. I cannot explain it to myself why. There are a lot more examples like this , but now this is the best I can give. Would you folks kindly enlighten me on this? Thank you!

TheParser

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Creamcake said:

- It is great/the hot news that I will be promoted. (appositive of C)

***** NOT A TEACHER *****

I am 99.99% confident that "that I will be promoted" is in apposition with the formal subject "it."

Native speakers don't usually say "That I will be promoted [subject] is [linking verb] the hot news/ great [subjective complement]."

They prefer to start the sentence with "it" (which is a substitute for the actual subject at the end of the sentence).

I have made up these sentences:

It is wonderful that such a nice person as Raul got the job.

It is very unfair that Mr. Smith did not win the "Teacher of the Year" award.

Creamcake