Interested in Language
Native Language
Thai
Home Country
Thailand
Current Location
Thailand
Dear Sir,

I have been using this site to educate myself for quite some times now. And I also use this site as a reference to tech my children general usage of English Language especially for communication purposes. The following are some grammar quizzes which I had taken and some of the answers I couldn't understand why such plural WORD is being used in the tag question instead of a singular PRONOUN.

Here are some of the questions that need to be explained.

Q34 - That's the guy who was on TV the other night, .......?

clip_image002.png
isn't that
clip_image004.png
isn't it
(Why “isn't it” is used as a pronoun in Tag question and not "isn't that"?) What is considered as the main subject of the sentence?

Q35 - That's the guy that won the pools, ........?
clip_image004.png
isn't it (and Q 35 is the same thing. Why use “isn't it” in tag question and not "isn't he"?)
clip_image002.png
isn't he

Can someone help explain the reason for the two questions above.

Thank you so much.

7 Day-English

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
[STRIKE]Dear Sir,[/STRIKE] Unnecessarily formal and excludes all our female members. Stick with "Hello".

I have been using this site to educate myself for quite some [strike]times[/strike] time now and I also use this site as a reference to teach my children general usage of English [STRIKE]Language[/STRIKE] especially for communication purposes. The following are some grammar quizzes which I [STRIKE]had[/STRIKE] have taken [STRIKE]and[/STRIKE] but I couldn't understand some of the answers. [STRIKE]I couldn't understand[/STRIKE] Why [STRIKE]such plural WORD[/STRIKE] is the word "it" [STRIKE]being[/STRIKE] used in the tag question instead of a singular PRONOUN.

Here are some of the questions that need to be explained.