Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Georgia
Current Location
Georgia
Hello.

When do you use ''bad'' as an adverb? I have seen it used as an adverb in the example #3 and in my other examples, as far as I know, it cannot be used. But I am not sure which rule it is based on.

1. ''She speaks good English.''

2. ''She speaks English well.''

3. ''I feel bad. I feel badly.''

4. ''She speaks English badly.''

GoesStation

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
In number 3, "bad" is an adjective modifying "I". Although native speakers often muddle this (I've done it myself), "badly" doesn't work there. It would be an adverb modifying "feel", so the sentence would, strictly speaking, mean "I'm not good at feeling."

Yankee

Banned
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Hello.

When do you use ''bad'' as an adverb? I have seen it used as an adverb in the example #3 and in my other examples, as far as I know, it cannot be used. But I am not sure which rule it is based on.

1. ''She speaks good English.'' :tick:

2. ''She speaks English well.'' :tick:

3. ''I feel bad. :tick: I feel [STRIKE]badly[/STRIKE] poorly.''

4. ''She speaks English [STRIKE]badly[/STRIKE] poorly.''

Y

GoesStation

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Yankee's last two sentences introduce poorly, a word which despite its form can be an adjective as well as an adverb (at least in American English). In Yankee's version of sentence 3, it's an adjective; it's an adverb in sentence 4.

GoesStation

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States