Other
Native Language
German
Home Country
Germany
Current Location
China
Hello everyone,

This is my first post in this forum, so I want to introduce myself first, before I state my question.
I am a German student, who is currently fulfilling an internship in China. I am at a vocational high school in a very rural area, what means, that many students can't exchange few sentences with me without making crucial grammar mistakes (their major problem is in the usage of the tenses).
But on the other hand they study very hard to pass their final exams (the English exams consist to 90% out of multiple choice questions) and for that they know exactly the difference on very particular topics like "dare" or "need" and so on.

Now to my problem:

What is the difference between:
1: "I help you to learn English" and
2: "I help you learning English"?

or
1: "I'm looking forward to hear from you" and
2: "I'm looking forward hearing from you"

In my opinion both is correct, but I would instinctively use variant 1.
But when do we use what and why? Or is even one variant wrong?
And is my assumption correct, that "learning" and "hearing" in variant 2 are present participles? Or are they gerunds?

I am sorry if I made any mistakes, I have to admit, that my English has been quite damaged during the past weeks. This also affected my confidence over my command. I am not sure about anything any more. ;-)

What is the difference between:
1: "I help you to learn English" and
2: "I help you learning English"?
Neither would be spoken by a native. You want: "I'll help you to learn English." (One would expect that a student would know whether you help him/her to learn English. You could, however, say: "I help him/her/them to learn English." 2. is wrong.

or
1: "I'm looking forward to hear from you" and
2: "I'm looking forward hearing from you"

In my opinion both is correct, but I would instinctively use variant 1.
Neither is correct. You need: I'm looking forward to hearing from you."