Student or Learner
Native Language
Indonesian
Home Country
Indonesia
Current Location
Indonesia
Hello everybody....

Since I learn English in Elementary school until now as the university student, my listening skill is low. :cry:

How to improve my listening skill? :)

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Hello everybody. ​(Remember that one single appropriate punctuation mark is enough.)

[STRIKE]Since I learn English in Elementary school until now as the university student,[/STRIKE] I started learning English at elementary school and I am now a university student but my listening skills [STRIKE]is[/STRIKE] are still [STRIKE]low[/STRIKE] poor. :cry:

How [STRIKE]to[/STRIKE] can I improve my listening skills? :)

Please see my corrections to your post above.

My main advice is to listen, listen, listen! Find an English-speaking radio station and play it at every opportunity. Have the radio on in the background whenever you are at home. Don't actively listen to it, just allow yourself to be immersed in the sound of the language. Try watching videos on TED - you can watch them first without subtitles to see how much you understand and then you can switch on the subtitles for some help. Watch English TV shows and films (but always remember that the spoken English is not necessarily grammatical).

The best thing you can do is find a native speaker to practise with. Advertise locally and see if there is someone who is interested in a language swap where you meet for an hour, speak English for half an hour and then speak your native language for half an hour, so that the other person can practise your language.

Louiesaha

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Malaysia
Current Location
Switzerland
Hi,