Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
Italy
Please explain me what does it mean the phrase “it is only the smell of cinnamon that stops him from drawing the other in the matching pair” taken from the British book THE NURSE" BY J.A. CORRIGAN

I’m an Italian man resident in Italy who strives to improve my English and understand words and phrases from British and American books.

Thank you.
Giuliano

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
It's a mystery to me. (Additional context might be helpful.)

I'm guessing that it's a novel. That phrase is, I think, relevant to the context in which it appears, but I don't know what that is.

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Please explain me what does it mean the phrase

What does It is only the smell of cinnamon that stops him from drawing the other in the matching pair” mean?

taken from the British book THE NURSE" BY J.A. CORRIGAN

Source: The Nurse by J A Corrigan

I’m an Italian man resident in Italy who strives to improve my English and understand words and phrases from British and American books. Unnecessary.
Thank you. Unnecessary.
Giuliano Unnecessary.
Please note my multiple changes above. Don't make your posts more complicated than they need to be. You don't need to keep giving us information about your location or nationality. Don't thank us in advance. We don't need your real name. Keep it simple and keep it short. Ask the question "What does XXX mean?" then write "Source" + name of book (in italics) + name of author.

cuccioloneus

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
Italy
It's a mystery to me. (Additional context might be helpful.)