[Grammar] Problems distinguishing Future tenses (examples)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Black_Jack4u

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
German
Home Country
Germany
Current Location
Germany
Hi,
I am a student and doing a grammar class at university. I just did a e-learning mock test. Unfortunately I am struggling with the Future tense.

Talking about plans, as far as i know, I am supposed to use going to for Future plans that are made just in a person´s head. While will is only used for spontaneous actions and Present Progressive for very definite plans. But, I am not sure what to with questions. How is the questioner supposed to know how concrete the other person`s plans are?

According to my knowledge I filled in what`s marked red in the gaps:

[2 friends were sitting in a cafe, having a chat] E suddenly said, “What are you going to do(do, you) at Christmas?” “I am going to go (go) to Cornwall for a couple of weeks – to polish up my Cornish!"

This is what the university suggests:

E suddenly said, “What are you doing (do, you) at Christmas?” “I will go (go) to Cornwall for a couple of weeks – to polish up my Cornish!"

Can you please help me figuring out what I did wrong?

bhaisahab

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
England
Current Location
Ireland
Hi,
I am a student and doing a grammar class at university. I just did a e-learning mock test. Unfortunately I am struggling with the Future tense.

Talking about plans, as far as i know, I am supposed to use going to for Future plans that are made just in a person´s head. While will is only used for spontaneous actions and Present Progressive for very definite plans. But, I am not sure what to with questions. How is the questioner supposed to know how concrete the other person`s plans are?

According to my knowledge I filled in what`s marked red in the gaps: