Repetition of vocabulary when writing essay: is the topic counted?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nonverbis

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Russian Federation
Current Location
Russian Federation
Let's consider IELTS essays.

Let the topic be: What are the pros and cons for children of watching television?

The textbook that I'm studying now suggests to mention in introduction what you are going to write an essay about.

Could you tell me whether the words "pros" and "cons" will be considered as repetition?

Let's have a look at a model assay. In this case the topic was about the advantages and disadvantages. And these words are used in the essay itself.
If it were at school where we ourselves wrote the topic every time, I would have considered it a repetition. I mean, of course, we were given the topic, but we copied it into our exercise books. It made the topic an integral part of our essays.

But in case of IELTS we are not copying the topic. It exists in the task, but as if it is in a parallel universe. If it is like that, then taking some words from the topic itself is not a repetition. And anyway, I feel these words as toxic. If I were in the shoes of the author of the book, I could easily substitute such words with synoyms.

Could you comment on that?

1653639648865.png

Last edited by a moderator:

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Try:

What are the pros and cons of children watching television?

It can't be repetitious if it's the first time you mentioned it. (Maybe I missed something.)

Time for coffee!

Last edited by a moderator:

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
@Nonverbis The advantages and disadvantages of what?

Nonverbis

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian