Student or Learner
Native Language
Turkish
Home Country
Turkey
Current Location
Turkey
Hi,

I am a linguistics student. Today, we had a discussion on the types of the sentences (simple, compound, complex and compound-complex) and I'm confused about a subject. What do we call a sentence with two main verbs like in the examples below? I wonder if they are called simple sentences or compound sentences?

''John fell and cried.''

''Jane came here and waited for me for a long time.''

As far as i know a simple sentence consists of just one independent clause, however, these sentences consist of two main verbs and in linguistics each potential head creates its own phrase, thus we have two verb phrases in each of these sentences. If we have two different verb phrases, doesn't it mean that we have two different independent clauses?

Thank you for your answers!

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Hi.

I am a linguistics student. Today, we had a discussion on the types of the sentences (simple, compound, complex and compound-complex) and I'm confused about [STRIKE]a subject[/STRIKE] something. What do we call a sentence with two main verbs, like in the examples below? I wonder if they are called simple sentences or compound sentences.

''John fell and cried.''

''Jane came here and waited for me for a long time.''

As far as I know, a simple sentence consists of just one independent clause. However, these sentences consist of two main verbs and in linguistics each potential head creates its own phrase, thus we have two verb phrases in each of these sentences. If we have two different verb phrases, doesn't it mean that we have two different independent clauses?

[STRIKE]Thank you for your answers![/STRIKE] Unnecessary. Thank us after we help you, by clicking on the "Thank" button. You will be able to use that button once you have made ten public posts.

Welcome to the forum. :hi: