Student or Learner
Native Language
French
Home Country
France
Current Location
France
Hello,
I'm a french student currently reading an "essay" (Far Journeys) written by Robert A. Monroe in which I've encountered a difficulty : I do not understand the verb "beeloon" and I haven't found this entry in any dictionary I've consulted so far. Hence the title. Can somebody help me with that ?

In the mysterious (at least, to me) passage, there's a child on his tricycle who seems to fall down on the grass.
Here's the extract in which I've encountered the term :
"(...) got to get up, my bike will get wet and it will rust, got to get it on the porch...but I can't move, I can't move!...what?...what?...just beeloon it and I can go the porch, how could I forget that! How could I forget to beeloon!"

Thanking you in anticipation.

euncu

Member Type
Other
Native Language
Turkish
Home Country
Turkey
Current Location
Turkey
***neither a teacher nor a native-speaker***

I only can guess;

Maybe, it is a way that a child (or this particular child) (mis)pronounces the word "balloon". He/she thinks to attach some balloons to make the tricycle fly.

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
It's also nowhere to be found on the Monroe Institute site. :-(

Raymott

VIP Member
Member Type
Academic
Native Language
English
Home Country
Australia
Current Location
Australia
Hello,
I'm a french student currently reading an "essay" (Far Journeys) written by Robert A. Monroe in which I've encountered a difficulty : I do not understand the verb "beeloon" and I haven't found this entry in any dictionary I've consulted so far. Hence the title. Can somebody help me with that ?

In the mysterious (at least, to me) passage, there's a child on his tricycle who seems to fall down on the grass.