Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Taiwan
Current Location
Taiwan
I wonder if the following passive voices are correct and natural.

1) He was watched to sign the document.
→ They watched him sign the document.
2) Amy was heard to tell a joke.
→ They heard Amy tell a joke.
3) He was seen to break the window.
→ They saw him break the window.
4) The house was felt to shake.
→ They felt the house shake.
5) Tom was noticed to pick up the purse.
→ They noticed Tom pick up the purse.

I am a qualified/certified English teacher, but I still need to improve my English ability. I appreciate your help and kindness.

Please put that information in a signature line. To do that, click Settings, scroll down to Edit Signature and copy that line in the space provided.

Next, go back to Settings, click Edit Profile, scroll down to Member Type and select English Teacher.

Who is making you spend so much time constructing unnatural passive sentences? We use the passive voice much less frequently than most teachers seem to think we do.

Last edited:
They are all incorrect and mostly incomprehensible. Your time would be better spent studying some other aspect of English.

I am a qualified/certified English teacher, but I still need to improve my English ability. I appreciate your help and kindness.

And one of the most important things you can teach your students is that, regardless of what it says in a lot of textbooks, we use the passive much less frequently than students are led to believe. Teach them just enough to get through an exam and spend no more time on it.

The first sentence in each instance is something nobody would ever say. But then you demonstrate that you understand the active voice version quite well. I suggest that if want to work on passive voice then post active voice sentences and ask for their passive voice equivalents (if there are any).