It rained / was raining for eight hours. (The past simple / The past continuous)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michaelll

Banned
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Belarus
Current Location
Belarus
Hello everyone! My name is Mikhail, I am a student. I have a question and I would like to ask you. I know that if an action is still going on, we use the perfect continuous (with action verbs), but what if the same action is already stopped/ceased/finished? I know about the option of using the past perfect conitnuous, but as I know, I need to provide another point in the past which is not what I want to do, because I just want to say about what happened in the past as a fact. I don't understand which tense to choose with periods of time in the past the past simple or the past continuous?

It's been raining heavily for eight hours.
--->
It rained heavily for eight hours.
It was raining heavily for eight hours.
(on my birthday)

We've been playing tennis for two hours.
--->
We played tennis for two hours.
We were playing tennis for two hours.
(yesterday)

He's been learning French for ten years.
--->
He learnt French for ten years.
He was learning French for ten years.
(my grandfather in his life, when he was alive)

She's been speaking for forty minutes.
--->
She spoke for forty minutes.
She was speaking for forty minutes.
(when I last met her)

Michaelll

Banned
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Belarus
Current Location
Belarus
Hello, is anybody here? :)

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
What exactly is the question?

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
"It's been raining heavily for eight hours."

It's still raining.

"It rained heavily for eight hours."