English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Great Britain
Current Location
UK
I need some advice please:
My student has been in England for 13 years and learnt to speak English with colleagues. I've been teaching him for 5 years. Despite correcting the same mistakes every week during our conversations, he never learns the correct phrases, verbs, etc. Drilling works to a certain extent, but he's not keen on this.
Thank you

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
First, you should try and work out why he isn't learning. Is it connected to understanding and awareness, general intelligence, motivation, senility, fossilisation, speed of speech?

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
He has been your student for five years and is not really learning anything?

I have two questions:
Why is he still paying you money?
Why are you still taking it?

HeatherCB

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Great Britain
Current Location
UK
First, you should try and work out why he isn't learning. Is it connected to understanding and awareness, general intelligence, motivation, senility, fossilisation, speed of speech?