Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Iran
Current Location
Iran
Here's a direct question: Where does he live?
And here's an indirect question: Do you know where he lives?
Can we call the following "a split indirect question/noun clause"?
Where do you think he lives?

P.S. It's my made-up term.

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
You can call it whatever you like. Are you asking whether you should use it with your students?

Mori

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Iran
Current Location
Iran
Are you asking whether you should use it with your students?
No, I'm just checking my own understanding of the structure and wonder how you analyze it.

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
I don't know what a grammarian would call this structure. As a teacher, I'd imaginatively class this kind of question as 'questions with "do you think" in the middle' or 'questions embedding "do you think"' or something like that. We teachers are not too concerned about precision of terminology, as long as the learners understand the structure and use.

Do you need help with the understanding the structure?

Last edited:

PaulMatthews

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Great Britain
Current Location
Great Britain
Here's a direct question: Where does he live?
And here's an indirect question: Do you know where he lives?
Can we call the following "a split indirect question/noun clause"?
Where do you think he lives?

P.S. It's my made-up term.

If you really want to know the grammar of your examples, then this may help:

[1] Do you know [where he lives]?

[2] Wherei do you think [he lives ___i ]?