Student or Learner
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Denmark
Current Location
Switzerland
Hello,
I have just written this short essay about "the best way to live". Could you please take a look at it and correct my mistakes?

Personally, I would rather live in a place in the university's neighborhood though it is old or noisy.
It helps me to save a great deal of time. As a student, I have a tight schedule, so I must manage my time efficiently. If I lived close to the university, I could not only keep myself away from wasting time commuting and stalling in traffic jams but also do mind-refreshing activities like hiking and jogging.

tedmc

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Malaysia
Current Location
Malaysia
If I lived close to the university, I could would not only keep myself away from wasting time commuting and stalling in save time commuting and getting caught in traffic jams, but also do which could be used on mind-refreshing activities like hiking and jogging.

Fredoon

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Denmark
Current Location
Switzerland
What do you think of this:
If I lived close to the university, I would save the time that would have been wasted commuting and stalling in traffic jams and spend it on doing mind-refreshing activities like hiking and jogging.
or
If I lived close to the university, by avoiding wasting time commuting and stalling in traffic jams, I could find time to do mind-refreshing activities like hiking and jogging.

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Personally, I think "personally" is one if the most useless words there is.

When you use "old or noisy" the suggestion it can't be expected to be _____.

Rather than "keep myself away from" use "avoid".

Try: