Native Language
English
Home Country
Ghana
Current Location
Ghana
STUDY PLAN
WRITTEN BY: PRINCE OPOKU APPAU

I am a recent graduate of the University of Mines and Technology – Tarkwa, Ghana. I graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Petroleum Engineering (First Class Honours) and with a Cumulative Weighted Average (CWA) of 87.05%. I believe Petroleum Engineering has a very bright future, hence my interest in pursuing graduate studies in the field.

The discoveries of Oil and Gas in commercial quantity in Ghana has opened up new economic opportunities for the country. Unfortunately, it is associated with low local participation due to low technical know-how of locals to contribute immensely to the effective management of the natural resource. Petroleum Engineering, which is pivotal in the Exploration, Drilling and Production of Oil and Gas is one of the less resourced areas, reference human capital areas. The country would therefore need more of such professionals and others to help reap the full benefits of its Oil and Gas find. Current discoveries deep offshore are also associated with more challenging technical issues. These therefore require more knowledgeable and experienced professionals to work together to surmount challenges.

In order to become part of this great fraternity of engineers I devoted much time in studying during my undergraduate level. Aside other extracurricular activities, I had the chance to win many awards including the Best Academic Year Student for three consecutive times starting from second year, Winner of Petrobowl 2016 Quiz Competition, Best Petroleum Engineering Graduating Student and the Overall Best Graduating Student for the 2015/2016 academic year. These awards made me realize that the sky is the limit to what I can accomplish.