[General] Various or respective warehouses?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toxxyc

Member Type
Other
Native Language
Afrikaans
Home Country
South Africa
Current Location
South Africa
Good afternoon ladies and gents,

I'm a new technical writer from South Africa. English is my third language and I aim to learn it best I can. I don't want to drone on, so my question follows.

I'm currently facing a decision I'm not comfortable with making on my own. I'm documenting a piece of software and it covers the topic of warehouses. So the sentence I wrote involves the following snippet:

"transfer the new stock into your various warehouses"

This has gone for review and the developer reckons it should be changed to "respective warehouses" instead. I see where he's coming from, but I did some research and unfortunately that didn't clear up my problem.

In short, I feel like "respective" is more of a particular word, relating to a more personal association between a warehouse and an item or product, for example. Various, to me, sounds more broad and covers the topic of numerous warehouses easier.

So, the question - which one do I go for, and why? If there's a better way to structure the sentence to avoid this problem altogether, I'd also be happy to hear it.

Finally, thanks for letting me on here. I hope to learn plenty (I don't know where to post an introduction).

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Welcome to the forum. :hi:

I agree that "various" isn't great there. It sounds as if each person has more than one warehouse. I don't really like "respective" either. I'm not sure you need anything there. What's wrong with "Transfer the new stock to your warehouse"?

Last edited:

Toxxyc

Member Type
Other
Native Language
Afrikaans
Home Country
South Africa
Current Location
South Africa
Welcome to the forum. :hi: