Where do you need to change from for other metro.

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
We have two different kinds of metros in our city. There is a place (station) where there is a platform which is joined to the metro station through which you can reach the place from where you can take that other metro.

So can I ask "

1) Where do you need to change from for other metro?

2) Which station do I need to get off to take that metro?

3) Which station can I change the metro from?
 

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
Do you have two different kinds of metro, or do you have two metro lines which cross/meet at one station?

Yes, there is this scenario as well. There are different stations where two metro lines meet. But here I am talking about another metro (it goes in circle only in a particular place. It revolves around a particular area only) but yes we can say these two metro lines meet at a station.
 
Last edited:

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
Which station do I change for Line A (the purple line/the other line/the Butcherbog) line at?

Which station do I change for Line A line at?

Why there are two "line" in this sentence?
 

GoesStation

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Which station do I change for Line A (the purple line/the other line/the Butcherbog[strike])[/strike] line) at?

Which station do I change for Line A line at?

Why [strike]there are two[/strike] does "line" appear twice in this sentence?
I think Piscean misplaced the closing parenthesis ("bracket" in BrE). See my amendment above.
 

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
I think Piscean misplaced the closing parenthesis ("bracket" in BrE). See my amendment above.

Can we also say "why did you say 'line' twice while speaking" or "why did you say 'line' twice in your sentence"?
 

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
I think Piscean misplaced the closing parenthesis ("bracket" in BrE). See my amendment above.

1) Which station do I need to change for Texas at?

2) Which station do I need to change for line B at?

3) I needed to change at London station for Manhattan.

4) You need to change at London station for Manhattan.

5) At a station John to Carter : "You can change here for Texas" or "You can change here for speedy metro."

Can we also say "Take metro"? "I need to take metro to Texas from Manhattan station"?

Please check my sentences.
 
Last edited:

GoesStation

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Can we also say "why did you say 'line' twice while speaking" or "why did you say 'line' twice in your sentence"?
Yes. Well done - you got the nested quotation marks correct.
 

GoesStation

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
1) Which station do I need to change for Texas at?

2) Which station do I need to change for line B at?

3) I needed to change at London station for Manhattan.

4) You need to change at London station for Manhattan.

5) At a station John to Carter : "You can change here for Texas" or "You can change here for speedy metro."

Can we also say "Take metro"? "I need to take metro to Texas from Manhattan station"?
1 and 2 are generally considered poor style. You will hear sentences like them, with a preposition stranded at the end, but you shouldn't write them. Since the only place you can change is at a station, you can just ask Where do I change or transfer to line B?

Geography aside, 3 and 4 are OK.

You've put two sentences after number 5. Did you run out of numbers? 5a is OK. 5b isn't.

You can't say take metro. It needs a definite article, and Metro should be capitalized.
 

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
1 and 2 are generally considered poor style. You will hear sentences like them, with a preposition stranded at the end, but you shouldn't write them.

But Piscean's suggestion cannot be wrong and your's is not wrong as well for sure then why is there a discrepancy between these two statements?

1) Where do I need to change for Texas?

2) Which station do I need to change to line B?

3) Can we also say "Take a Metro"?

4) I need to take a Metro to Texas from Manhattan station"?

5) What should be said in place of this
"You can change here for the speedy Metro"?
 

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
I don't agree. When I travel in Prague, I take a bus, a tram, a train or the metro. 'Metro' is slightly different from the others in that we generally use a definite article before it, but it's still a common-moun method of transportation.

1) Where do I need to change for Cannaught place?

2) Which station do I need to change to line B?

3) Can we also say "Take the Metro"?

4) I need to take the Metro to New Friend's colony from Shivalik"?

5) What should be said in place of this
"You can change here for the speedy Metro"?

 

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
That's five questions in one post. How many times have you been asked to present one question at a time, tufguy?

1) Where do I need to change for Cannaught place?

2) Which station do I need to change to line B?

 

GoesStation

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
1) Where do I need to change for Cannaught place? :tick:

2) Which station do I need to change to line B? :cross:
Just ask Where do I change for your destination. You can only change at a station, right?

You can, if you prefer, ask Which station should I change at for line B. I know I recommended against stranding a preposition too far from its object. The important part of that advice is too far.
 

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
Just ask Where do I change for your destination. You can only change at a station, right?

You can, if you prefer, ask Which station should I change at for line B. I know I recommended against stranding a preposition too far from its object. The important part of that advice is too far.

You need to change at Shivalik station for line B/New Friend's colony. Is this sentence correct?
 

Tarheel

VIP Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
What's wrong with "You can change here for speedy metro"?
 

GoesStation

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
What should be the natural sentence?

You can change here for the Speedy Metro.
That's OK if the common name for the train is ​Speedy Metro.
 
Top