Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Russian Federation
Current Location
Russian Federation
Hi there! I've got a question that alarm me quite a lot.

I'm a newbie in a great English world (14 months of learning). I prefer monolingual dictionaries and have just read the 'Harry Potter and the Philosopher's stone' book, which is my 5 book so far. And somewhere in the middle of the book, I started to get obsessed with an idea that there is something wrong with my perception of new vocabulary.

That's what I do while reading:

1) Whenever I come across a new word, I look it up, then write down some sentences with the word.
2) After reading, I review my vocabulary by rereading the sentences that were written down.

The weird thing is that whenever I read the sentences it feels so foggy, I kind of can't feel the meaning of new words very very deep. It happens mostly with words that don't have a direct translation. I don't need a direct translation anymore, but also feel quite fuzzy in a new world of language acquisition. It feels like I'm in space and can't breathe properly.

For example, 'Peeves was bobbing halfway up, loosening the carpet so that people would trip.'

In Russian, we don't talk like that. I appreciate English, I literally love it, but its huge vocabulary and context addiction put its learners before Everest.

How to deal with a lack of meaningful comprehension?
Should I read more?
Will it come off?
Maybe it's just the wrong way of dealing with words. (but as I said direct translation doesn't provide you with meaningful information so I don't use one)

My aim is to get my comprehension at a level of native speakers and then above it.